Midwest Association for Public Opinion Research

Home About MAPOR Conferences/Events Newsletters Sponsorship Officers Join Us
MAPOR's informal motto: "Midwest is a state of mind, not geography." We are a regional chapter of the American Association for Public Opinion Research (AAPOR). We're university and college faculty members, professional practitioners, governmental researchers and graduate students. Click here to know more about us...



MAPOR Announcements


MAPOR Methods & Substance Webinar Series

Read more about the inaugural Webinar series here.

  • Visual Design in Surveys: Using Numbers, Symbols, and Graphics Effectively (Jolene Smyth, September 18th, 2014)
  • "Political" Science: Emerging Technologies at hte Intersection of Media, Politics and Public Opinion (Dietram Scheufele, October 9, 2014)

    Space is limted. Register here today for a special 2-for-1 offer!


Spring 2014 Newsletter

The latest MAPOR newsletter is available here. Learn about the upcoming November conference, other plans for MAPOR this year, MAPORtraits of MAPOR members, a bio of our newest MAPOR fellow, and more!


MAPORNet is launched!

MAPOR members have a new benefit – MAPORNet. MAPORNet is a listserv for MAPOR members to communicate with each other and subscription is needed. MAPORNet can be used the following ways:

  • a forum on which to ask questions
  • for student members and young professionals to ask for advice from more experienced MAPOR members
  • a place to share information about upcoming events or job information
  • other communication that may be of interest to MAPOR members
If you are a MAPOR member and would like information on how to subscribe to MAPORNet, please contact MAPOR President Kristen Olson.

Thank you to our 2013 Conference Sponsors

Click here for more information about MAPOR sponsorship.



Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsor

Bronze Sponsor

  • Cvent
  • Indiana University - Center for Survey Research [website]
  • NORC [website]
  • Paul J. and Barbara J. Lavrakas
  • The Everett Group [credits]
  • University of Chicago Survey Lab [website]
  • University of Illinois at Chicago - Survey Research Lab [website]
  • University of Michigan Institute for Social Research [website]
  • University of Nebraska, Gallup Research Center Survey Research & Methodology Program [website]
  • University of Wisconsin Survey Center [website]

Join Us on Facebook

Stay up-to-date on everything that's happening at MAPOR on Facebook.


2014 Annual MAPOR Conference

November 21-22, 2014

Conference Theme

Changing Latitudes, Changing Attitudes


Conference Location

NEW!! The 2014 annual MAPOR Conference has a new home - the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel. Special MAPOR rate $179/night is available through 5pm, Friday, October 31, 2014 through Marriott reservations at (312) 372-7200 or toll-free (800) 468-3571.


Call for Papers

MAPOR is now accepting submissions for papers, posters and panels for the 39th annual MAPOR meeting in November 2014. More information can be found here. Students should also review the call for the MAPOR Fellows student paper competition here


To submit an abstract or view example abstracts, click here.


2013 Student Paper Winners

  • David Sterrett, University of Illinois at Chicago. The Self-Interested Public: How Self-Interest Affects Policy Preferences.
  • Yuli Patrick Hsieh, Northwestern University, Testing Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Recall Aids for Personal Networks Survey.

New MAPOR Fellow

Dr. Patricia Moy was named MAPOR Fellow at the 2013 conference. Dr. Moy was a former president of MAPOR, current editor of the Public Opinion Quarterly, and Christy Cressey Professor of Communication at the University of Washington.


Newly elected 2014 MAPOR Officers

These individuals will join the Executive Council to serve in the following roles:


2014 Vice President/President-Elect (2015 President): Allyson Holbrook


2014 Associate Conference Chair (2015 Conference Chair): Matthew Courser


2014 Associate Secretary-Treasurer (2015 Secretary-Treasurer): Ipek Bilgen


A complete list of 2014 officers can be viewed here.