Mary Losch is Professor of Psychology and Director of the University of Northern Iowa (UNI) Center for Social and Behavioral Research (CSBR).  The Center conducts applied research utilizing numerous types of survey and other quantitative and qualitative methods to support academic research, evaluate programs and inform policy decision-making at the local, state and national level. Mary received her PhD at the University of Iowa (UI) studying attitudes and psychophysiology with John Cacioppo and then entered the private sector as a survey research analyst. From 1988-1998 she was the Program Director at the UI Social Science Institute.  At UI, she served as vice-chair of the social science IRB and served on the Ad Hoc Conflict of Interest Committee.  In 1998, she joined the faculty at UNI and became Assistant Director of the Center for Social and Behavioral Research where she was named Director in 2014.  Mary’s service at UNI has included chairing the IRB committee from 2001-2006.  In 2008, she served on the steering committee to establish the Association of Academic Survey Research Organizations (AASRO).  Mary has directed dozens of survey and applied research projects in the areas of public policy, health behavior, and program evaluation among others.  She serves as a reviewer for a several academic journals including Public Opinion Quarterly and hascontributed to Survey Practiceand many other social science and public health journals.


Mary has been an active member of MAPOR since 2014 and a member of AAPOR since 1991.  Mary has served the AAPOR organization in a variety of roles.  At annual meetings, she has been a conference presenter, session chair, and discussant.  She has served two terms on AAPOR’s Executive Council and on numerous committees.  On the Executive Council, she has served as Standards Chair (2008-2009) and in2014-2015 as Secretary-Treasurer.  As a member of the Standards Committee (2001-2009), she chaired the IRB Task Force and led the effort to revise and update the AAPOR Statement to IRBs. While Secretary-Treasurer, she also served on the Conference Steering Committee, Development Committee, Financial Oversight Committee, Investment Committee and Ad Hoc Sustaining Sponsorship Committee.  Other AAPOR service includes chairing theAd Hoc Committee to Review the Code of Professional Ethics and Practice (2009-2010) and serving as a member of the same committee in 2014-2015. During 2014-2015 she served as a member of the Ad Hoc TCPA Committee and served on the AAPOR Transparency Initiative Coordinating Committee 2012-2018.  She was a member of the AAPOR Award Committee in 2014-2015 and a member of the 2018 Policy Impact Award Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.